Faq view

What is the capital of Australia?

Although many might guess that Sydney is the capital, given that it is Australia’s largest city, they would be incorrect. It is in fact, Canberra, located in Australian Capital Territory (ACT). Canberra’s name is derived from the aboriginal term meaning ‘meeting place’ and became the capital in 1927, when the federal parliament was shifted from Melbourne.

Check our other frequent questions

Browse by category below

Or get in touch with the team if you have a specific question.

Or, read our blogs

We love Australia and have spent years exploring and documenting our finds in our blogs, take a look and get recommendations on weather, where to go, clothes to wear and all that's in between.